Things to do in Kandy Sri Lanka
Top 5 Things to Do in Kandy Sri Lanka
March 26, 2017
Show all

Review

20 Comments

  1. George Tucker says:

    We had an amazing Colombo City Tour with Mr.Anton who was really professional and very knowledgeable. He always tried to show us the best of Colombo for all of us including three Italians who visited me last month. Anton who was a English teacher some times back speak very good English. He never tried to push anything to us but was very happy to do the tour on our own pace. I would like to recommend Sri Lanka Travel Advice Tours and specially Anton. All the best.
    Visited April 2016.

  2. Karl Williams says:

    An absolute must if you are Sri Lanka. My 3 colleagues and I made last minute plans and got a full day tour for the next day! Our guide and driver Mr. Anton, picked us up at the hotel we chose, they even got there a few minutes early, and off we went, first to Pinnawalla Elephant Orphanage where it was timed perfectly with the elephants bathing in the river. Next it was a wonderful stop to a Herb and Spice garden where we were educated in herbal medicine and massage. The tour ended with a wonderfully relaxing shoulder/arm massage and the option to buy a few of their products. Lunch was set up at a restaurant facing the mountains, cheap too! The afternoon was filled with a guided tour of the Tooth Relic Temple, a must in my opinion. With the day coming to a close, we ended with a quick trip to the Botanical Gardens in Kandy. Right before we were dropped off, we stopped one last time and our guide (who we had just found out was the owner of the company) surprised us with dinner that we ate in the van. It was delicious! A wonderful day, we couldn’t have planned it better ourselves. Thank you Anton!
    Visited March 2016

  3. Blair Roberts says:

    My experience with this company was just great. First and foremost i can never thank my guide enough for the amazing time in this beautiful country. He was very polite, accommodating and helpful which made my trip so much more relaxing and safe. As a solo traveller i needed to feel secure and Mr.Anton did just that.
    Before my trip i had planned out the places that i wanted to see and they arranged a very nice personal tour just for me which was excellent. The tour guide was also very knowledgeable and being myself a very inquisitive person who likes to ask questions to learn more about the country i am visiting, i was satisfied as he answered and gave the information without hesitation.
    They also had other tours planned for me within the tour with experts guide of certain places. These guides were also very professional and i was very satisfied with my whole experience.
    Last but certainly not least i would like to express my deep gratitude to Mr.Anton for being such a wonderful person. Everytime i needed anything he went out of his way to make my stay a memorable one!!
    i will definitely recommend Sri Lanka Travel Advices!
    Visited May 2016

  4. Heinz says:

    We visited Sri Lanka for 15 days and organised our trip through Sri Lanka Travel Advices. We were completely delighted with this professional and efficient organisation which was priced very fairly. All arrangements and queries prior to our holiday were dealt with promptly and satisfactorily. The care and attention to detail from our hard working Guide, Mr.Anton, during our visit ensured that we had a memorable experience. He provided a first class customer service with a sense of humour. He has excellent English, explaining things easily and drives very well. We took a 5 day break in the Maldives following our trip and returned to Colombo for an overnight stay prior to returning to the UK. We, therefore, required an additional service from Sri Lanka Travel Advices for airport transfer and hotel arrangements which we received from two other members of the team who also delivered a good, reliable service. On our way back to the airport, the Managing Director took the time (on a national holiday) to check that we had enjoyed our visit and this is indicative of their commitment and flexibility.
    Sri Lanka is a fascinating country to visit with so many facets and world class scenery but we wouldn’t have enjoyed or understood it half as much without such reliable support from Sri Lanka Travel Advices and Mr.Anton’s guidance and courtesy.
    Visited April 2016

  5. Jesse owens says:

    I contacted Sri Lanka Travel Advices with a last minute request for a driver for 10 days (2 days before we arrived). They were fast to respond by email and due to the number of positive reviews on TA I decided to book with them. I was concerned that we may get a driver who was pushing us to tourist attractions that we weren’t interested in however that was not the case at all (thankfully). Our driver Mr. Anton was friendly, punctual, and professional. He was also knowledgeable about Sri Lanka and shared history, cricket, cuisine and culture with us. On our last day we dropped in to his mother in law’s home for a lunch they had prepared for us – we thought it was very kind of them, a nice personal touch to meet his family. Would definitely recommend Mr. Anton and Sri Lanka Travel Advices tours.
    Visited April 2016
    Jesse owens

  6. Aaron Hank says:

    My wife and I did a 2 days trip with Sri Lanka Travel Advices. We visited Yala Safari and the city of Galle. The tours were amazingly planned and our tour guide Mr.Anton was extremely thoughtful, professional and sincere. Under his care, he made our short trip to Sri Lanka extremely memorable. For sure, we will come back again.

  7. Rachel Donawan says:

    From the first email to the final drop off Sri Lanka Travel Advice, had everything organised brilliantly. I had the best driver, Mr.Anton, anyone could ask for who couldn’t do enough for me to make sure my trip passed without a hitch.
    Thank you
    Visited April 2016

  8. Katherine says:

    We had an 8 day trip to Sri Lanka organized by Sri Lanka Travel Advices. I chose Sri Lanka Travel Advices because of the favorable reviews on Trip Advisor and being our first time in Sri Lanka, it seemed the easiest way to sight see the first time around. Communication with Sri Lanka Travel Advices was quite good in organizing the trip – they were responsive and they occasionally rang from Sri Lanka as well. My only suggestion is that they allow people to pay for their tours via credit card – you can only electronically wire or pay via Western Union your deposit.

    The tour itself was great – we had a great guide/tour with Mr. . Anton who navigated the Sri Lankan roads with excellent skill. For the UNESCO heritage sites, on site guides were organized which made the experience really enjoyable.
    As you are spending every day with the guide/driver, you really need to enjoy their company. Mr. Anton was great in that regard – good sense of humour, easy to talk to and gave you space to enjoy the sites. He was also really good in accommodating last minute changes to the itinerary without any hassle, and giving us tips on where to eat and where not to eat (we had some yummy Sri Lankan snacks from the train station which I would never have tried otherwise).
    A great way to see Sri Lanka and would use their services again.
    Visited April 2016

  9. Steve Jhones says:

    My parents and I did a 4 day trip with Sri Lanka Travel Advices. I picked them mainly because of their excellent ratings on trip advisor. Initially, I was not as impressed with their communication and tour planning as I’ve been with some of the more well known travel companies in Europe, America, and South- East Asia. This changed quickly once we arrived in Sri Lanka and met our tour guide, Mr.Anton made the trip so much more enjoyable than we had anticipated. He was so courteous and cheerful at all times. It was obvious that he enjoyed people in general, and he happily answered all of our questions about his country and culture and had some questions for us in return as well! He was so excited when we asked to try to street food in Sri Lanka that he bought us snacks one evening and refused to allow us to pay. If we wanted an early start, he would be there 15 minutes ahead of time without any complaints. When we made suggestions about itinerary changes (which has been a major issue in the past with most travel companies), he would actually listen, make suggestions of his own, or agree with the changes if they made sense (even if it was inconvenient to him). He kept emphasizing that it was our holiday and that he would do his best to accommodate us in every way possible. I was also very impressed with his love for animals (being an animal lover myself) and appreciated how environmentally conscious he was (not something you often see in our part of the world, unfortunately). I’d definitely consider traveling with them again. The only suggestion I have, is that you should pay closer attention to the itinerary. Ask to speak to your tour guide ahead of time about the timings of places, how long it will take to visit, etc. I did not feel like the girls at the tour agency were aware of this, and hence the planning could have certainly been better.
    Visited May 2016

  10. James Adam says:

    Was beyond all expectations. We booked the tour a the very last minute (my hubby and I are last minute poeple). Our guide and drive Anton was exceptional. He was very professional and welcoming . He really made our visit of this wonderful country one to remember.
    Thank you Sri Lanka Travel Advice tours and Mr.Anton
    Visited April 2016

  11. Allan Ward says:

    The founder of Sri Lanka Travel Advices, helped us organize a driver with short lead time. The driver, Mr.Anton, was warm, funny, and intelligent and extremely professional– he went above and beyond to ensure we had a comfortable and fun journey, taking note of our interest and to keep to the pace we wanted.

    We went to Sigiriya, Nuwaraeliya, Kandy, where we saw his family home and met his warm family, ending in Galle. He adapted to us and was never anything less than charming and accommodating.

    Thank you to Mr.Anton because he made our trip very enjoyable, and thanks to Sri Lanka Travel for organising it.
    Visited April 2016

  12. Damien Cross says:

    My colleagues and I had very limited time in Sri lanka, but with the help of Sri Lanka Travel Advices we managed to see everything we wanted to see, enjoy good quality food, and had the most perfect 4 days! We hired a driver Upendra for our 4 days tour of Sri Lanka and were very impressed by his impeccable service. Unlike other tours, there is total flexibility, no hidden costs involved or pressure for shopping. Anton was very honest and friendly and at the end of the trip, he was more like a friend than an employee. We felt safe with his guidance and thoroughly enjoyed the past 4 days, will highly recommend Sri Lanka Travel Advices!- Hayley Cross
    Visited April 2016

  13. julia benz says:

    I only have very limited days to travel around for holidays and was initially quite sceptical that I could tour much. But Mr.Anton and Sri Lanka Travel Advices Tour made it possible for us. Even thou the schedule was very tight, we visited Sigiriya and also Nuwara Eliya. Mr.Anton is a very friendly tour guide who will give good advice for the tour which is always right. He is an honest and sincere chap. Travelling with him makes me feel at home and easy. I will definitely come back and go with Sri Lanka Travel Advices again and choose But Mr.Anton!

    Visited May 2016

  14. Charles Silva says:

    This tour was covered all of the highlights and with the most informative of guides Mr.Anton. As the day was a religious holiday he explained and guided us through it so the people as ourselves were comfortable. We were able to see and experience places that we hadn’t got on our list. thank you for a wonderful day.
    Visited April 2016

  15. Hayley Cross says:

    My mother, sister and I arrived to Sri Lanka with only a hotel booked for two nights in Colombo. A quick Google search led me to the most professional website for a tour agency in Sri Lanka, Sri Lanka Travel Advices. I challenged their team to find us an itinerary to leave the next morning. I was interested in adventure, my sister culinary/wildlife and my mother history/culture and boy did they deliver. We were greeted by the CEO, a wonderfully driven man with a strong emphasis on professionalism and a seamless experience. Seamless it was. We travelled with him throughout the country for 12 days and even got to experience new year according to the Buddhist calendar. During the tour, I got to experience a real “Indian Jones” adventure in Yala national park which is a must see. My sister (and the rest of us) got a brief cooking lesson during a local village visit. This was literally the best food we had. Last but not least my mother enjoyed Sigiriya’s rich royal history along with a workout and incredible views. Truly, this is not a tour to miss. Your tour guide will surely end up being your friend, as Mr.Anton will always be welcome in our home and we are sure to return for a visit. Every country in the world is beautiful but to have a wonderful guide to show you around is icing on the cake.

    Hurry, hurry. (When you meet him, you’ll understand)
    Visited April 2016

  16. Ashley Michel says:

    At first we wanted to visit Sri lanka on our own, however after reading the comments of Sri Lanka Travel Advices Tours and as we had not enough time to prepare it properly we decided to contact them.
    They answered quickly and offered us an excellent tour!
    At arrival, we met our driver/guide, Mr. Anton. He was so nice all the time with us, we were very comfortable with him, and we felt we were traveling with a friend!
    We really were not expecting to feel that great without driver, which is really important as we spent 7 days with him all the time.
    Visited April 2016 -Ashley Michel.

  17. Stevens Black says:

    We contacted Sri Lanka Travel Advices to plan a 12 day trip with friends (from three countries) for the tour of Sri Lanka because of the recommendations from fellow Trip Advisor’s. We like to leave as much money in country when we are traveling rather than go through an American travel planner. We had been doing many international trips the past two years and I didn’t study up on all the country details as would be typical therefore we were dependent on Sri Lanka Travel Advices
    to give us their best recommendations. There is of course the concern of just wiring money for deposits and final payments to a business in a third world country for which you might not have recourse for recovery. And they don’t take credit cards so we could only hope they were as good as the TA recommendations. There were only a few times when planning our trip over six months that we didn’t get a prompt response from Sri Lanka Travel Advices
    when making planning inquiries. We know in retrospect that they had their staff in the field although they should have had an auto response saying they were unavailable to answer questions immediately. Our “group” ranged from 12 to 73 year of age but all of us are fit and curious. We had never all been together before so we couldn’t offer any restrictions or recommendations to Sri Lanka Travel Advices
    and had to depend on them for the total tour plan. We did discuss back and forth in advance which national parks were the best for elephant, bird and (hopeful) leopard spotting. Our guide, Mr.Anton
    was more than magical, kind and intelligent. He is a former business executive who switched to guiding because of his love of history and his country. He has a delightful sense of humor and that helped us all through very hot days (in the 30’s) and very long drives. Our driver maneuvered the roads safely, which are almost exclusively 2 lanes except for the for the expressway out of Galle to Colombo. We totally underestimated the driving times in the country. Sri Lanka is a small country but you can’t get from point A to point B easily and you better have a good driver and a good van which Sri Lanka Travel Advices provided. Sri Lanka Travel Advices even arranged a very high quality Ayurvedic massage out of Sigiriya. They packed in an incredibly diverse range of experiences including lunch in a private home which was the best meal of the trip. They arranged a cooking demonstration in a farm kitchen with a lovely woman and her daughter outside of Sigiriya also. Their hotel selections were the best in the area. We toured Anuradapura on bicycles which Sri Lanka Travel Advices planned. We wish we had given Sri Lanka Travel Advices one more day for a “do nothing day” and we would have spent it at Madulkelle Eco Lodge. From the moment we got out of the plane to the return to the airport Sri Lanka Travel Advices gave us the broadest sampling of experiences from Buddha’s to farms to national park animal viewing to fishermen and whale watching. If you want just a sit on the beach vacation I am not sure they are a match. We weren’t big shoppers but we did give Mr.Anton
    a list and even with the difficulties of so many shops being closed for the New Year he managed to source the list with the best quality options. We’ve worked with some of the best boutique tour operators in the US and they couldn’t have done better than Sri Lanka Travel Advices. If you are curious and really enjoy being in-country we highly recommend them.
    Visited April 2016

  18. Deborah Smith says:

    The company,Sri Lanka Travel Advices helped me making a good schedule. The hotels are totally great, and the sightseeing’s are so amazing.Many thanks to my chauffeur Mr. Anton who is quite friendly and also a nice guide. An impressing trip for me and my friend.

  19. Alan Rez says:

    We booked Sri Lanka Travel Advices after finding them on the internet (excellent web pages) for visits to Sigiriya, Dambulla Caves, Temples and The Little England, surrounding area and Tea Plantations.
    On the first visit we were driven by the owner of the company who provided excellent service, arranged guides, places to eat and whose knowledge of the area was outstanding.
    The vehicle was a brand new air conditioned Nissan X-trail and it is needed, as anyone who has travelled around this beautiful Island will tell you there are no short journeys.
    Due to family illness we had a replacement driver for the second trip to Little England; however this did not mean that the levels of service dropped. The drivers English and local knowledge again were excellent and all of the organization for guides and lunch etc was taken care of.
    We had an outstanding two days with the Sri Lanka Travel Advices team and we would both recommend them to anyone wanting to visit these areas and more. They have a range of tours that can found on their excellent website, which is complimented by their excellent customer centered service.

  20. Larry Brown says:

    Arriving by cruise ship with limited one day trip. Having made contact with Sri Lanka Travel Advices we, a party of six, were met by Mr.Anton
    in an air conditioned coach as promised. We chose the Colombo city tour and thoroughly enjoyed our day. Mr.Anton
    was very professional and helpful and our only regret was that we were only in Colombo for one day. We saw all the sights as promised and payment was made at the end of the tour. We were also given unexpected gifts as a thank you for booking with them.
    Would highly recommend the company and Mr.Anton
    as a tour guide. Thank you.
    Visited March 2016

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *